The Winkler Flyers are pleased to announce that graduating forward Tristan Keck has committed to the University of Nebraska-Omaha Mavericks (NCAA Div I) for the 2016-2017 season. After a stellar four year Junior Hockey career, Keck will now move on to play at the top collegiate level in North America.

Joining the Flyers in 2012, after lighting up the Manitoba high school hockey scene, Keck quickly proved to be one of the most dangerous offensive players in the Manitoba Junior Hockey League. The Morris, Manitoba native was named the Manitoba Junior Hockey League Rookie of the Year in 2012/2013. That same season, he was also named the Rookie of the Year in the entire Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL).

After leading the MJHL in goals in 2014/2015, Keck was honored with the MJHL’s Most Valuable Player award and was a finalist for the CJHL MVP trophy. He was an MJHL All-Star in three of his four seasons and served as an Assistant Captain for the Flyers during his last three years.

“We are thrilled for Tristan.” said Flyers Head Coach and General Manager Ken Pearson.

“He’s a very special player, and it’s great to see all his hard work and talent pay off. He has done a lot for us over the past four seasons and I have no doubt that he will continue to succeed in Omaha” added Pearson.

In 212 regular season games played, Keck recorded 244 points (131 Goals – 113 Assists). He also had 21 points in 25 playoff games. His tremendous work ethic, blazing speed, devastating wrist shot and humble nature made him a true fan favorite both on and off the ice.

The University of Nebraska-Omaha Mavericks play in the NCHC Conference of NCAA Division I Men’s Hockey with the likes of the University of North Dakota, Denver, St. Cloud State, Minnesota-Duluth, Miami, Western Michigan and Colorado College.

The Flyers would like to congratulate Tristan on his commitment to the University of Nebraska-Omaha and wish him and the Mavericks all the best in the future.

Keck becomes the fourth member of the Flyers to make a college commitment this year, joining Tyler Jubenvill (Bemidji State – NCAA Div I), Jordan Williamson (Curry College – NCAA Div III) and Kurt Sonne (Northland College – NCAA Div III).