All 11 member teams of the MJHL will be placed in one division effective this coming season, Commissioner Kim Davis announced today. Teams had previously been placed in either the Addison or  Sher-Wood Divisions.

Moving forward, teams will play a balanced 60-game schedule, playing against each other six times (three home/three away).

“The new, one-division format and change to our playoff format was decided at our recent Board of Governors’ meeting held recently in Winkler,” said Davis. “It’s been well received and we believe our fans will enjoy our new look.”

A total of 10 teams will make the playoffs. Teams finishing seventh to 10 will participate in separate, best-of-three Survivor Series to determine playoff seeding. The seventh-place team will play No. 10, while No. 8 will face off against No. 9. Winners then move on to the regular playoff format which will be best-of-seven series:  1st playing 8th, 2nd vs 7th, 3rd vs 6th and 4th vs 5th.

The Board also approved the following for the 2014-15 season:

Darren Russell of Pleasant Valley, MB has been appointed as the league Board Chairman. The league Vice-Chairman will be Trent Ward of Portage.


The annual Old Dutch MJHL Showcase will take place at Winnipeg’s MTS Iceplex October 2-4.

The following have been appointed league officers:
Statistician ─ Reid Cutler, Winnipeg
Director of Officials ─Jody Wielgosh, Tyndall
Assignor of Officials ─Ian Heather, Winnipeg
Director of Partnership Services ─Trevor Kennerd, Winnipeg
Social Media Coordinator ─Mitchell Clinton, Winnipeg



For more information contact:
MJHL Media Relations
[email protected]

-MJHL News Release-